The Ocean. The Sea. My Home.

“The Ocean is everything I want to be. Beautiful, Mysterious, Wild and Free.”

I’ll never be able to fully describe how at home I feel when I’m near the ocean or at the beach. The salty air surrounding me, filling my lungs with every breath I take in. The ocean waves crashing into the shore. It all makes me feel at peace. It puts my mind at ease and calms my restless soul.

For as long as I can remember I’ve always been told I was a fish. The only place where I’ve ever been truly happy, was when I was in the water. Staying in the bath tub until my fingers and toes got all pruney. It was always a battle to get me out of the bath or shower and it’s still true to this day.  

I’ve alway gotten the jokes I must be a mermaid. Mainly because I’m a redhead and they think I look like Ariel from the Little Mermaid. Honestly though it kind of makes a sense, my love for water had to come from somewhere right? Joking! Definitely not a mermaid, but it would be pretty cool if I was.

My love for the beach, the ocean, the water in general can be seen in a lot of aspects in my life.

My favorite color being blue, my room ocean themed and countless tattoo ideas that have to do with the ocean waves and the beach.

During the summer when I’m sad or upset my go to place has always been the beach, the lake or even the river, digging my toes into the sandy shore and breathing in the misty air. Don’t get me wrong though, some of my best moments have been at these places too. Running in the sand and playing in the water for hours, building monstrous sand castles, finding the hidden sharks teeth scattered among the broken sea shells and the copious amounts of sunblock to protect my pale skin that comes along with being a redhead.

As basic as it sounds ocean/sea/water = life. Literally. Without water you wouldn’t exist. So get with the program and love all that beach has to offer.

XOXO

Leave a Reply

